BDC Faculty

CORE BDC PROGRAM FACULTY

Sara Andres, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
Office: HSC 4H38

Lab: HSC 4H32

905-525-9140 ext. 21063

andressn@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information

Mick Bhatia, PhD

Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
MDCL-5029
McMaster University
905-525-9140 ext. 28687
mbhatia@mcmaster.ca
Assistant:  Darlene Lane

Click Here for More Information

Russell Bishop, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
4H31B Health Sciences Centre

McMaster University
905-525-9140 ext. 28810

Email: bishopr@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information

Eric D. Brown, PhD

Director, Biomedical Discovery and Commercialization Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences

Canada Research Chair in Chemical Biology

MDCL 2321
McMaster University
905-525-9140 ext. 21547

ebrown@mcmaster.ca

Assistant: Jodi Biro

Click Here for More Information

Lori Burrows, PhD

Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences

Joint Member, Pathology & Molecular Medicine

4H18 Health Sciences Centre
McMaster University
905-525-9140 ext. 22029

burrowl@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information

Brian Coombes, PhD

Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
Chair, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences

Canada Research Chair in Infectious Disease Pathogenesis

4N59 Health Sciences Centre
McMaster University
905-525-9140 ext. 22454

coombes@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information

Benson Honig, PhD

Professor, Human Resources and Management
bhonig@mcmaster.ca
Room DSB-406
ph: 905-525-9140 x23943
fax: 905-521-8995

Click Here for More Information

Kristin Hope, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
Scientist, McMaster Stem Cell and Cancer Research Institute

MDCL-5025
McMaster University
905-525-9140 ext. 28026

kristin@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information 

Christopher J. Longo, PhD

Associate Professor, Executive Committee Member, Health Policy and Management
clongo@mcmaster.ca 


Room: RJC-253
ph: 905-525-9140
x23896
fax: 905-634-4994

Click Here for More Information

Yingfu Li, PhD

Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
Canada Research Chair in Nucleic Acids Research

Joint Member, Chemistry

4H32A Health Sciences Centre
McMaster University
905-525-9140 ext. 22462

liying@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information 

Yu Lu, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
Research Scientist, McMaster Stem Cell and Cancer Research Institute

MDCL 5033
McMaster University
905-525-9140 ext. 20543
luy93@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information 

Michelle MacDonald, PhD

Associate Professor - Associate Chair, Undergraduate Program
Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences

4H44 Health Sciences Centre
McMaster University
905-525-9140 ext. 22316

macdonml@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information 

Lesley T. MacNeil, PhD

Assistant Professor Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences
Farncombe Family Digestive Health Research Institute

Office: HSC 4H17
Extension: 26523
Lab: HSC 3N11B
Extension: 21256
macneil@mcmaster.ca

 Click Here for More Information

Nathan Magarvey, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
Canada Research Chair in Chemical Biology and Natural Products

MDCL-2320
McMaster University
905-525-9140 x 22244

magarv@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information 

Jakob Magolan, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
Boris Family Chair in Drug Discovery
Joint Member, Chemistry and Chemical Biology

MDCL 2306

McMaster University
905-525-9140 ext. 22268

magolanj@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information

Andrew McArthur, PhD

Associate Professor Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences
Cisco Research Chair in Bioinformatics

MDCL 2322
McMaster University
905-525-9140 ext. 21663
mcarthua@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information

Matthew Miller, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
Associate Chair and Assistant Dean, Biochemistry Graduate Program

MDCL 2324
McMaster University
905-525-9140 ext. 22387

mmiller@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information

Jonathan D. Schertzer, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
HSC 4H19

McMaster University
905-525-9140 ext. 22254

schertze@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information 

Karun Singh, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
Scientist, Stem Cell and Cancer Research Institute

MDCL-5030
McMaster University
905-525-9140 ext. 20818

singhk2@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information 

Deborah Sloboda, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
Canada Research Chair in Perinatal Programming

HSC 4H21
McMaster University
905-525-9140 ext. 22250

sloboda@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information 

Felicia Vulcu, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
Office 4H43 – Lab 1H6, Health Sciences Centre

McMaster University
905-525-9140 x22838

vulcuf@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information 

John Whitney, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
Member, Michael DeGroote Institute for Infectious Disease Research

MDCL 2108
McMaster University
905-525-9140 ext. 22280

jwhitney@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information

Gerard D. Wright, PhD

Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
Director, Michael G. DeGroote Institute for Infectious Disease Research

Canada Research Chair in Antimicrobial Biochemistry

MDCL-2301
McMaster University
905-525-9140 ext. 22664

wrightge@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information  

Daniel S.-C. Yang, PhD

Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
4N20A Health Sciences Centre

McMaster University
905-525-9140 ext. 22455

yang@mcmaster.ca

Click Here for More Information 

ASSOCIATE BDC PROGRAM FACULTY

Stephanie Atkinson, PhD

Department of Pediatrics

satkins@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information

John Brennan, PhD

Department of Chemistry & Chemical Biology

brennanj@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information 

Thomas Hawke, PhD

Department of Pathology and Molecular Medicine

hawke@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information 

Alison Holloway, PhD

Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology

holloway@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information

Charu Kaushic, PhD

Department of Pathology and Molecular Medicine

kaushic@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information 

Karen Mossman, PhD

Department of Pathology and Molecular Medicine

mossk@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information

Sandeep Raha, PhD

Department of Pediatrics

rahas@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information 

Sheila Singh, MD Phd

Department of Surgery

ssingh@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information

Tobias Berg, MD PhD

Department of Oncology

bergt1@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information 

Marie Elliot, PhD

Department of Biology

melliot@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information 

Stephen Hill, PhD

Department of Pathology and Molecular Medicine

hillstev@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information 

Alexander Hynes, PhD

Department of Medicine

hynes@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information 

Mark Larche, PhD

Department of Medicine

larche@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information

Ishac Nazy, PhD

Department of Medicine

nazii@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information

Jennifer Stearns, PhD

Department of Medicine

stearns@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information

Jeffrey Weitz, MD

Department of Medicine

weitzj@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information

 JOINT BDC PROGRAM MEMBERS

Paul Berti, PhD

Department of Chemistry & Chemical Biology

berti@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information

Paul Higgs, PhD

Department of Physics and Astronomy

higgsp@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information

Hendrik Poinar, PhD

Department of Anthropology

poinarh@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information

Michael Surette, PhD

Department of Medicine

surette@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information

Cecile Fradin, PhD

Department of Physics and Astronomy

fradin@physics.mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information

Giuseppe Melacini, PhD

Department of Chemistry & Chemical Biology

melacin@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information

Gregory Steinberg, PhD

Department of Medicine

gstein@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information

Geoff Werstuck, PhD

Department of Medicine

werstug@mcmaster.ca|Click here for more information

2019-2020 MBDC PROGRAM FACULTY MENTORS